Chakra Reflexology

If you know me you know I am all about healing energy and the Chakra system. It seems natural for me to add Chakra work to my practice as a massage therapist.


chakra foot reflexology chart new resized(1).jpg
The Chakra Reflexology Session

During a session the practitioner (me) will apply pressure to the various reflexes on the feet that relate to the physical body. The practitioner would also apply pressure to each Chakra reflex along the spinal reflex (this runs from the base of the heel to the tip of the big toe) by holding and gently applying a pivoting massage to each point beginning at the crown chakra working down to clear pathway for energy (Shakti) to rise. This is a very efficient way to bring all the chakras into a state of balance.

It is important to work on all the reflexes to bring balance. Remember to work on both feet!

Chakra-chart.jpgWhat are Chakras?

Chakras are spiraling centers of energy located on the body. The word “chakra” in Sanskrit means ‘wheels of light’. The Chakras interact with the body’s endocrine and lymphatic systems as well as muscular and skeletal systems, feeding in good energy and removing unwanted energy. It is very important that our Chakras are nourished and balanced in the correct way in order to maintain good health and prevent dis-ease.

The Chakras

1st Chakra – Muladhara: “Root Center”
Location – Base of spine
Function – Keeping you grounded and efficient, desire to procreate, and want of material security; creating loyalty
Element – Earth
Color – Red
Mantra – “I Am Here”
Shadow – Fear

2nd Chakra – Svadhishthana:“Emotional Identity”
Location – Basin of the pelvis around the genital area and below the navel
Function – Drives our creativity, sense of self, and relationships with others. Source of our sexuality, desires, lusts, and greed.
Element – Water
Color – Orange
Mantra – “I feel”
Shadow – Guilt

3rd Chakra – Manipura: “Ego Identity”
Location – Above Navel, specifically around the sternum, and the digestive system
Function – Source of self and transformation.  Determines whether a person feels introverted or extroverted, self-confident or unconfident.
Element – Fire
Color – Yellow
Mantra – “I Can”
Shadow – Shame

4th Chakra – Anahata: “Social Identity”
Location – Heart
Function – Source of compassion and unconditional love translating into one’s ability to share and serve selflessly.
Element – Air
Color – Green
Mantra – “I Give And Receive Love”
Shadow – Grief

5th Chakra – Vishuddha: “Creative Identity”
Location – Neck, throat.
Function – Creation of individual voice and communication as well as ability to listen to others; allows one to accept compliments and criticism with ease.
Element – Sound or Ether (clear sky beyond clouds)
Color – Blue
Mantra – “I Speak”
Shadow – Untruth

6th Chakra – Ajna: “Archetypal Identity”
Location – Between and slightly above the eyes.
Function – Self-realization and intuition, seeing the “big picture” as well as beyond the physical (clairvoyance, telepathy, intuition, dreaming, imagination, visualization)
Element – Light or Bliss (Mahat)
Color – Indigo
Mantra – “I See”
Shadow- Illusion

7th Chakra – Sahasrara: “Universal”
Location – Crown of the head
Function – Realization of the infinite, spirit, Divine God, universe, and unity; enlightenment and spiritual connection; ability to receive understanding and knowledge
Element – Universal intelligence (Satchitdananda) or Thought/Meditation
Color – White (sometimes depicted as Violet)
Mantra – Silence
Shadow – Attachment 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s